- New Jersey residents can use this website to see their driver surcharge record, and make a payment towards their surcharge account
- Drivers in New Jersey who do not pay their surcharges will have their driver’s license suspended
- If a driver in New Jersey earns surcharges and is on government assistance, a lower cost payment plan can be instated
The NJ Surcharge service is FREE to use for all residents in the state of New Jersey and users can find their record through several methods, including their driver’s license number and date of birth, surcharge number, judgment number, installment payment plan number, and notice number. Surcharges are essentially fines that are assessed by the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System. Drivers who have excessive points for traffic violations or drivers who have been convicted in court for specific offenses (like DWI) can potentially have surcharges added to their account. Surcharges are added on top of any court fees and other penalties, and are billed every year for three years.
NJ Surcharge Footnotes
- Drivers who do not pay surcharges will be sent a notice indicating their license will be suspended, and another notice confirming the license has been suspended for non-payment
- Moving out-of-state does not remove surcharge debts
- If surcharges are still unpaid, a court judgement will be issued, and the payment will be collected through non voluntary means like wage garnishment
- One of the most serious surcharges is DWI, which is $1,000 for first and second offense, and $1,500 for a third or more
Driving records in New Jersey are reviewed every time points are added. If six or more points within three years are added, the driver will receive a $150 surcharge plus $25 for each additional point. If a license is suspended for surcharge non-payment, a $100 restoration fee must be paid. Residents looking to make a NJ Surcharge payment via US mail should send it to: NJSVS, P.O. Box 4850, Trenton, NJ 08650-4850.